Beyond the Edge of My Education

The Downtown Public Library’s Mason O. Damon Auditorium is not the largest auditorium in the area, but it certainly is a welcoming space. Bright upholstery, with rich wooden dividing walls on the wings, and subdued but warm carpeting create a hospitable space within the large concrete forms that make up the building. The smooth forms and simple geometrics of the design and architecture are as evident here as they are in the stacks of books on the floors above. The design is one of the reasons I enjoy visiting and borrowing from the Central library, more than any other library in the area. There’s an aesthetic that I like about being able to find a book I love inside stacks–and I mean stacks–of books available to read. Often, I’m carrying more books than I could possibly read in 4 weeks, to the check out. I look for reasons to take a trip downtown to the library, and last weekend there was one a very good reason to be there.
In celebration of the 175th anniversary of the birth of Mark Twain, and the 125th anniversary of the publication of his most famous work The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library held “An Afternoon of Twain with George Saunders” last Saturday.

You can read the rest of my article about George Saunders at the B&ECPL over at Buffalo Rising.

Leave a Reply

