And I Don’t Feel Any Different

So last I left off, I was struggling with the NaNoWriMo challenge for 2009. As a follow up, I’d like to announce, if you didn’t already know, that I completely failed this year’s competition. For whatever reason, hiatus, busy-ness, distraction, sickness, or the most obvious Nickel City Chef-ness, I out and out did not accomplish that goal. I still haven’t gotten much further along on the writing train. Or the reading train. But let me tell you what. This video ended up being very well received, and worth the stress and time it took to put together. Though while I am happy with the success of the video, I still carry some guilt over the time it took to finish.

But that, as some fellow graduates of UB’s DMS ’03 et al may recall, is simply water under the fridge. 2009 ended up feeling like a year of struggling emergence. Renewed by the inauguration, encouraged by ScriptFrenzy! after the disappointment of grad school applications, bowled over by travel to new cities and seeing new places, saying au revoir to a friend, and je t’aime to a new love, overworked by my generosity, witness to the dissolution of Harvey Danger, I’ve come to December as full of hope and excitement for the coming year. I do not recall being this excited–and its not the change of the year–but about the path I’m moving down. I’ve never felt like such an adult, if this is even what an adult feels like.

I like to think that even adults don’t feel like adults all the time. Maybe it is one of those intangible feelings that is at once striven for and at the same time avoided. Maybe I’ll dye my hair blue. Probably not. I’ll at least leave 2009 with a list of music. Not the best of the year,but the ones that were released in this decade (as the email from a friend stipulated), and got my most heavy rotation.

Joseph’s List of Decade Best Music:

Flaming Lips – Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots
Harvey Danger – King James Version
Death Cab For Cutie – We Have The Facts and We’re Voting Yes
The Hold Steady – Stay Positive
The Long Winters – When I Pretend To Fall
Okkervil River – Black Sheep Boy
Rilo Kiley – More Adventurous
The Tragically Hip – Live Between Us
The Decemberists – Her Majesty
Modest Mouse – The Moon & Antartica

Runners Up:
TV On The Radio – Dear Science; …And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead – So Divided; John Vanderslice – Cellar Door; Gatsbys American Dream – Volcano; Nada Surf – Let Go; Wilco – Yankee Hotel Foxtrot; The Weakerthans – Reconstruction Site; Barenaked Ladies – Maroon; Sondre Lerche & The Faces Down Quartet – Duper Sessions; The Arcade Fire – Neon Bible

Don’t even get me started on movies. See you in 2010.

Leave a Reply

