I Know These Lines Look Crooked on Paper

It has been raining on and off all day. I have a scene in a short story that explores part of the experience of not doing what you’d like to be doing and not knowing why you’re not accomplishing what you know you should be. The difference is, I know why I haven’t gotten to edit this short yet: I’ve got a live event to shoot tomorrow, and since I’m heading to Austin on Tuesday. Maybe on the plane I’ll be able to review and refresh.  I hope I can get to it before then.

Tomorrow is going to be fun, and worth all the stress. In the long term, will it be worth interrupting my writing?  Perhaps. I’m worried about not being able to jump right back into my writing, into my editing, to be where I was when I was writing every day.  I need that.  I found out some lovely info about myself again.  Writing not only calms me down, but evens me out, clears my head, and makes me happier. I want to do more of it, and to write every day, regardless of the films or music I’m recording.

Maybe I should take a cue from Wes Anderson and Quentin Tarantino. I do carry a notebook around, but I use it for notes, not for writing and drawing, simply because it isn’t big enough, and my handwriting isn’t that great.  Maybe I need to rethink this, and maybe I need to refresh myself over at 43 Folders and review my GTD book. Maybe I’ll even develop better handwriting.  Maybe.

Leave a Reply

