Bigger And Better Than He Had Ever Done

There’s been a whole lot of news about puzzles lately, and interviews with J.J. Abrams to boot.  From the latest issue of Wired to The Colbert Report to the secrecy surrounding his latest film, the reboot of Star Trek, which I saw last night. I like puzzles, and full discolure, I have never won a race to finish a sudoku.  True story.

I think Star Trek was one heck of a fun film, and yeah, it does dispense with a lot of the braininess of the series, in favor of a much more action-packed set up, but man, isn’t that what we want to see? Isn’t that what makes space fun? Cowboys? Malcom Reynolds fans know what I’m talking about.  It is for me.  While I can dig classics like Solaris (and the 2002 remake), and 2001: A Space Odyssey, I really enjoy the solid action of a good romp in space, with explosions, consequences, time travel, and canon-loving details everywhere. That’s what this film brought to its viewers, it might not make you think, but that isn’t necessarily a required aspect of enjoying a good film, or this one.  Man what a ride, I can’t wait for the next one.

Leave a Reply

